患儿护理团队 | Children's National Hospital in Washington, D.C.

患儿护理团队

Group of Children's National staff members
本院的综合护理方法将多个医学专科和部门的工作人员结合在一起,为孩子提供最佳治疗。在孩子治疗过程中将与家人合作的一些关键护理团队成员包括:
  • 口译员

    医学口译员都经过认证,能每周 7 天、每天 24 小时当面、通过电话或马尔蒂 (Martti) 视频系统提供翻译,以助您交谈孩子的健康状况。

  • 医生

    本院有 500 多名患儿保健各个专科领域的医生,兢兢业业,表现出最高水平的敬业精神和专业知识。一些儿科专科医生还拥有亚专业培训和认证。患儿治疗医生包括:
    • 主治医生:已完成所有培训并负责患者治疗的高级医生。每个专科(如心脏内科、肿瘤科、神经内科等)都有主治医生负责监督孩子的治疗。患儿治疗的临床医生团队由主治医生负责。
    • 研究员:为成为儿科医生已完成实习和额外培训的医生。他们是完全合格的医生,正在接受培训以成为专家(如小儿心脏病专家)。
    • 实习医生:已读完医学院并正在成为儿科医生的医生。小儿科实习医生通常要花三年时间才能完成实习。本院有很多实习医生,会经常参与处理患者日常治疗的需求。
    • 查看本院的全球服务医生名录
  • 护士

    本院护士技巧娴熟,富有同情心,在孩子的治疗过程中时时与您同在,会竭心尽力地为您的孩子和家人服务。本院护士会为患者及其家人赋权,并参与共同做出决定。

    自 2010 年以来,本院的卓越护理计划一直荣获美国护士资格认证中心 (ANCC) 认可为磁性医院 (Magnet®) 指定医院,在美国仅有 7% 的医院获得了这种认可。在荣获磁性医院认可的医院,患者死亡率更低,医疗并发症更少,患者和工作人员安全性更高,患者和工作人员满意度也更高。护理孩子的护士可能包括:

    • 高级执业护士 (APN) 或执业护师 (NP):接受过高级培训和教育的护士将成为临床护理人员,配合医疗团队的医生来管理患儿治疗。
    • 注册护士 (RN):注册护士为患儿提供日常护理,与整个团队一起评估患儿需求,并提供持续的护理。
    • 临床或轮班协调员(注册护士):负责监督患儿所在单元所有护理的护士,还帮助患儿护理团队制定出院计划。
    • 执照职业护士 (LPN):孩子护理团队的成员,在团队注册护士的监督下工作。
    • 单元经理(注册护士):单元经理负责每个单元的整体运营和管理。
    • 个案经理(注册护士):帮助安排患者出院的护士,负责转介到居家护理服务和过渡性护理设施,安排家用设备和用品,获取药物,在需要时安排救护车运输,还可以回答有关健康保险计划和福利的问题。
  • 患儿生活专员

    患儿生活专员为医疗手术做好心理准备,并在治疗之前、之中和之后提供情绪援助。本院提供适合各个发育阶段的活动和治疗娱乐体验,能最大减少压力和焦虑。患儿生活专员提供游戏、玩具和小型电子设备,并帮助庆祝重要的里程碑(如生日、治疗结束和出院回家)。
  • 小儿麻醉师

    一些医院的麻醉师仅接受过一般培训,但没有接受过满足小儿患者独特治疗需求的麻醉培训。本院所有的麻醉师都获得了美国儿科专业委员会 (ABP) 和美国麻醉学委员会 (ABA) 的认证,由这两个委员会提供儿科和麻醉学的综合培训。接受过这种专科培训后,小儿麻醉师在本院出色的手术效果中起着至关重要的作用。 
  • 重症监护专家

    如果患儿处于不稳定的危急状态、在意外事故中受到重伤或需要进行深入随访监测的复杂手术,本院重症监护医生将提供所需的特殊治疗。重症监护单元配备重症监护医生,他们通常都完成了 4 年的医学院学习、3 年的儿科治疗实习以及 2 年到 3 年的儿科重症监护博士后研究。此外,在本院重症监护单元工作的所有护士都接受过重症监护医学方面的专门培训。
  • 治疗师

    治疗师是临床专业人士,可协助满足患儿的各种需求。在治疗过程中可能会遇到以下各种治疗师:

    • 物理治疗师 (PT):帮着患儿下床、在设备上走动并进行锻炼,让患儿恢复或保持力量和健康。
    • 职业治疗师 (OT):教患儿如何照顾自己和做对康复很重要的日常活动,让患儿变得尽可能独立。
    • 呼吸治疗师 (RT):侧重影响患儿呼吸能力的护理。
    • 语言治疗师 (SLT):专门从事言语、语言和吞咽障碍的评估和治疗。
  • 社工

    本院社工深知,患儿的疾病或复杂的医疗需求可能会给所有家人带来挑战和压力。本院的目标是为您和家人提供援助、资源和干预措施,以增强家人应对孩子的疾病或医疗需求的能力。
  • 其他护理团队成员

    • 医生助理 (PA):执照的医疗专业人员,通常配合外科医生和其他专家,并通过与患者和家人跟进进行协助。
    • 患者护理技术员 (PCT):协助各单元护士护理患者的临床专业人员,帮助洗澡、换药、营养需要和采集生命体征等。
    • 患者服务助理 (PSA):这些护理团队成员的工作是援助工作人员,保持区域整洁,并按需提供餐盘、零食和其他服务。
    • 临床营养师:监视孩子营养状况并提供营养需求专门教育的专业人员和护理团队成员。

Your Child's Care Team

Group of Children's National staff members
Our team approach integrates staff members from a wide range of medical specialties and departments, resulting in the best care for your child. Some of the key care team members who will partner with your family on your child’s health journey include:
We care about your privacy. Read about your rights and how we protect your data. Get Details
  • Interpreters

    Certified medical interpreters are available to support patients and families seven days a week, 24 hours a day, either in person, via phone or through our Martti video system, to assist you in communicating about your child’s health.
  • Doctors

    Our more than 500 doctors demonstrate commitment and dedication to the highest level of professionalism and expertise in every specialty of children’s health care. Some pediatric specialties also feature subspecialty training and certification. Doctors who will care for your child include:
    • Attending physicians: Senior physicians who have completed all of their training and are responsible for the care of the patient. There are attending physicians in each specialty (such as Cardiology, Oncology, Neurology, etc.) that oversee the care of your child. Attending physicians are responsible for the team of clinicians who care for your child.
    • Fellows: Physicians who have completed their residency and additional training to become a pediatrician (doctors who only treat children). They are fully credentialed physicians and are in the process of completing training to become a specialist (such as a pediatric cardiologist).
    • Residents: Physicians who have completed medical school and are becoming pediatricians. Pediatric residents typically spend three years completing their residency. There are many residents at the hospital, and they are frequently involved in the care of the patient’s day-to-day medical needs.
  • Nurses

    Through their skillful and compassionate care, our nurses will be with you for every step of your child’s health care journey, with an unwavering commitment to your child and family. Children’s National nurses empower patients and their families and engage in shared decision-making.

    Our nursing program has been recognized by the American Nurses Credentialing Center as a Magnet®-designated hospital since 2010. As such, we are among only seven percent of hospitals in the United States to have achieved this recognition for excellence in nursing. Magnet®-recognized hospitals have lower patient mortality, fewer medical complications, improved patient and employee safety, and higher patient and staff satisfaction. Nurses caring for your child may include:

    • Advanced practice nurses (APN) or Nurse practitioners (NP): Nurses who have completed advanced training and education to become clinical care providers. They work in collaboration with the doctors on the medical team to manage your child’s care.
    • Registered nurses (RN): Registered nurses are involved with the day-to-day care of your child. They assess your child’s needs with the whole team and provide ongoing care.
    • Clinical or Shift coordinators (RN): Nurses who oversee all the nursing care on your child’s unit. They also help your child's care team with discharge planning.
    • Licensed practical nurses (LPN): Members of your child’s care team who work under the supervision of the team’s registered nurses.
    • Unit managers (RN): Unit managers are responsible for the overall operation and management of the unit.
    • Case managers (RN): Nurses who help plan for a patient’s discharge from the hospital. They make referrals to home care services and transitional care facilities, arrange home equipment and supplies, work to obtain medications, and set up ambulance transports if needed. They also can answer questions about health insurance plans and benefits.
  • Child Life Specialists

    Child life specialists provide psychological preparation for medical procedures, as well as emotional support before, during and after treatment. Our developmentally-appropriate activities and therapeutic play experiences minimize stress and anxiety. Child life specialists provide games, toys and small electronics, and help celebrate important milestones such as patient birthdays, end of treatment and discharge.
  • Pediatric Anesthesiologists

    Some hospitals have anesthesiologists who have general training, but they are not trained in administering anesthesia to children to meet their unique health care needs. At Children’s National, all of our anesthesiologists are certified by the American Board of Pediatrics (ABP) and the American Board of Anesthesiology (ABA), which provide combined integrated training in pediatrics and anesthesiology. With this specialized training, they play an essential role in our excellent surgical outcomes. 
  • Intensive Care Experts

    Our intensive care medical practitioners, or intensivists, provide the special care that your child needs if they are in unstable critical condition, have been seriously injured in an accident, or have complex surgery that requires intensive follow-up monitoring. Our intensive care units are staffed by intensivists who have usually completed four years of medical school, a three-year pediatric care residency, and a two- to three-year pediatric critical care fellowship. In addition, all of our nurses working in intensive care units are specially trained for critical care medicine.
  • Therapists

    Therapists are clinical professionals who assist your child with a variety of needs. You may encounter the following types of therapists during your stay:

    • Physical therapists (PT): Help your child regain or maintain strength and fitness by working with them to get out of bed, walk around the unit and perform exercises.
    • Occupational therapists (OT): Help your child become as independent as possible by teaching them how to care for themselves and handle day-to-day activities important to their rehabilitation.
    • Respiratory therapists (RT): Focus on care that affects your child’s ability to breathe.
    • Speech therapists (SLT): Specialize in the evaluation and treatment of speech, language and swallowing disorders.
  • Social Workers

    Our social workers know that your child’s illness or complex medical needs can be challenging and stressful for all members of your family. Our goal is to provide you and your family with the support, resources and interventions that will strengthen your family’s ability to cope with your child’s illness or medical needs.
  • Other Care Team Members

    • Physician assistants (PA): Licensed medical professionals who typically work with surgeons and other specialists, and assist by following up with patients and families.
    • Patient care technicians (PCT): Clinical professionals who assist the unit’s nurses with patient care such as bathing, dressing changes, nutritional needs and taking vital signs.
    • Patient services associates (PSA): Members of the care team who support staff, keep the area neat, and provide meal trays, snacks and other services as needed.
    • Clinical dietitians: Professionals and members of the care team who monitor your child’s nutritional status and provide specialized education regarding nutritional requirements.