肠胃内科 | Children's National Hospital in Washington, D.C.

肠胃内科

Doctor holding baby

本院肠胃病学、肝脏病学和营养学领域的国际知名专家拥有诊断、治疗和管理不同年龄段患儿各种消化系统疾病的技能和资源。为了治疗这些复杂的疾病,本院设有针对腹腔病、进食障碍、幽门螺杆菌感染、肠道康复和肝脏病学的专科计划。本院竭尽全力提供富有同情心的全面和个性化治疗,以改善患者及其家人的生活质量。

选用本院的消化治疗

本院拥有全美经验最丰富的肠胃内科、肝病科和儿科营养团队之一,因此,《美国新闻与世界报道》将本计划评为全美最佳计划之一。

本院提供:

  • 综合治疗

    从诊断性检测和医疗检查到腹腔镜手术和持续的营养援助,本院提供全面的护理,包括需要持续治疗的疾病(如克罗恩病和胃食管反流病)。本院还将与您的家人一起协调检测和后续约诊。
  • 专家诊断

    如果患儿有胃肠道疾病,第一步就是要让经验丰富的儿科专家尽早做出准确的诊断,以确保适当的治疗。本院专治小儿患者,而且经常看诊患有各种疾病,拥有丰富的经验,能够迅速正确地判断患儿的疾病。
  • 尖端技术

    本院能使用磁共振成像 (MRI) 评估炎症性肠病患者,而美国仅有几家儿科医院有这种能力。这项先进的技术让本院的医生能够以高分辨率细看小肠图像,而无需让孩子暴露于辐射。 
  • 以患儿为中心的环境

    本院的病房色彩缤纷,里面有专为患儿提供的大屏幕电视,还有富有爱心的护士和儿科专家,环境温馨安全,在整个治疗过程中随时让家人参与。 

诊所和肠胃病学专科计划

本院的目标是有效地帮助患儿控制其疾病,鼓励与患儿及其家人讨论治疗方案,向他们介绍社区资源,并在必要时与患儿的学校合作,以确保能在需要时提供特殊设施。

本院的专科诊所和计划包括:

  • 炎症性肠病 (IBD) 计划

    炎症性肠病计划每年治疗 450 例克罗恩病、溃疡性结肠炎和其他炎症性肠病的患者。从诊断开始就使用先进的药物和营养疗法来评估和治疗从婴儿到 22 岁的炎症性肠病患者。放射学专科服务是本院治疗的重要组成部分,包括使用磁共振肠造影 (MRE) 这种新颖的成像技术,可让患儿进行敏感的成像,而无需暴露于辐射。 
  • 腹腔病计划

    本院腹腔病计划每年诊断 250 名新患者。治疗时采取多学科方法,看诊患儿的医护人员包括医务主任本尼 • 克兹纳 (Benny Kerzner) 医学博士,还有一位营养学家、腹腔病计划协调员、心理学家和教育主任,以确保为每个家庭提供本院所有的可用资源。此外,本院还提供各种教育资源,旨在帮助患儿适应无麸质的生活方式,包括营养课、儿童烹饪夏令营、饮食咨询、应用程序以及新确诊患者的个性化援助。  

  • 肝脏病计划

    本院提供各种肝脏疾病诊治,包括各种形式的急性和慢性肝炎,还为等待肝移植及移植后需要持续随访的患者提供护理。
  • 进食障碍计划

    本院有全美最著名的跨学科计划之一,旨在帮助婴幼儿养成健康的饮食习惯,并克服对食物的过度挑选和恐惧。该计划的负责人是世界著名的婴幼儿进食障碍专家艾琳 • 查托尔 (Irene Chatoor) 医学博士,每年看诊近 400 位患者。

Gastroenterology

Boy in a toy car making his way through the hospital

At Children’s National Medical Center, our internationally-renowned specialists in the fields of gastroenterology, hepatology and nutrition have the skills and resources to diagnose, treat and manage all kinds of digestive disorders present in infants, children and teens. In order to address these complex conditions, Children’s National offers specialized programs for celiac disease, feeding disorders, helicobacter pylori disease, intestinal rehabilitation and hepatology. Our team is dedicated to providing compassionate, complete and personalized care to improve the quality of life for patients and their families.

Choosing Children’s National for Digestive Care

Children’s National has one of the most experienced gastroenterology, hepatology and pediatric nutrition teams in the country. This is why we have been recognized as one of the 20 best programs in the nation, according to U.S. News & World Report.

Our team offers your child:

We care about your privacy. Read about your rights and how we protect your data. Get Details
  • Comprehensive Care

    From diagnostic tests and medical examinations to laparoscopic surgeries and constant nutritional support, we offer broad spectrum care, including those conditions that require continued treatment, such as Crohn’s disease and gastroesophageal reflux disease (GERD). Our team will also work with your family to coordinate testing and follow-up appointments.
  • Expert Diagnosis

    If your child has a gastrointestinal disorder, the first important step is to receive an early and accurate diagnosis from an experienced pediatric specialist to ensure proper care. Because we treat only children and regularly see patients with a wide variety of diseases, we have the experience to quickly and correctly identify the disorder that affects your child.
  • Cutting-Edge Technology

    We are one of only a few pediatric hospitals in the country to use magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) to evaluate patients with inflammatory bowel diseases. This advanced technique allows our physicians to see images of the small intestine in detail and in high resolution without exposing children to radiation. 
  • Child-Centered Environment

    From colorful rooms with large screen televisions especially for children, to caring nurses and children's specialists, we offer a warm and safe environment, and we heavily include families in the care process. 

Clinics and Specialized Gastroenterology Programs

Our goal is to help children effectively control their illness. We encourage discussion with patients and their families about treatment options, inform them about community resources, and work with our patients’ schools to ensure special facilities when necessary.

Our specialized clinics and programs include:

  • Inflammatory Bowel Disease (IBD) Program

    Under the direction of Laurie Conklin, M.D., the Inflammatory Bowel Disease Program treats more than 450 patients a year with Crohn’s disease, ulcerative colitis and other inflammatory bowel diseases. From the moment of diagnosis, we use advanced drugs and nutritional therapies to evaluate and treat our IBD patients, ranging from infants to age 22. A specialized radiology service is an essential component of our care, which includes the use of magnetic resonance enterography (ERM), a novel imaging technique that allows children to undergo sensitive imaging without exposure to radiation. 
  • Celiac Disease Program

    Celiac education is the basis of our nationally recognized program, which diagnoses 250 new patients each year. Our appointments are multidisciplinary – your child will be seen by our medical director, Benny Kerzner, M.D., as well as a nutritionist, the Celiac Disease Program coordinator, a psychologist and our education director. This approach ensures that each family is equipped with all of our available resources. Additionally, we offer a wide variety of educational resources designed to help children adapt to a gluten-free lifestyle, including nutrition classes, a cooking summer camp for children, diet counseling, an app and personalized support for newly-diagnosed patients. 
  • Hepatology Program

    We offer diagnosis and treatment for children with a wide variety of liver disorders, including all forms of acute and chronic hepatitis. We also provide care for patients awaiting a liver transplant and those who require continuous follow-up care after transplantation.
  • Feeding Disorders Program

    We offer one of the country’s most important interdisciplinary programs, which aims to help infants and children establish healthy eating habits and overcome their excessive selectivity and fear of food. Our program sees nearly 400 patient visits each year and is directed by Irene Chatoor, M.D., a world-renowned specialist in eating disorders in infants and toddlers.

We're Here to Help

To make an appointment with our Gastroenterology team, please contact Global Services at +1-202-476-5778.