新生儿科 | Children's National Hospital in Washington, D.C.

新生儿科

infant

本院新生儿科竭尽全力为新生儿提供最高水平和富有同情心的专家治疗。该科负责人是比利 • 肖特 (Billie Lou Short) 医学博士,拥有全美顶级的新生儿科医生和一个四级新生儿重症监护室,能为最小的患儿提供最先进的治疗方法。

新生儿护理全美排名第一

本院深知,对您和您的家人来说,有一个病情复杂的婴儿会带来诸多困难,本院随时恭候为您的治疗之旅提供援助。本院具有独特的资格,能用最新颖的疗法来治疗您的婴儿。

本计划的多种优势包括:

  • 全美排名第一

    《美国新闻与世界报道》将本院的新生儿科评为全美第一,这反映了本院为患者及其家人提供卓越护理的承诺。  

  • 四级新生儿重症监护室

    本院的四级新生儿重症监护室在华盛顿特区地区独一无二,能为早产和新生儿患者提供最高水平的护理。
  • 高危产前护理

    本院的胎儿医学团队专精在子宫内诊断婴儿的高危妊娠病情,并能提供分娩和产后治疗计划。
  • 体外膜肺氧合呼吸疗法

    本院在 1984 年成为第一家提供体外膜肺氧合 (ECMO) 的儿童医院,用来作为重症婴儿的人工心肺,现已成为全美最大的婴儿体外膜肺氧合计划之一,并被指定为体外膜肺氧合卓越中心。
  • 营养和喂养计划

    本院新生儿营养计划的专家会密切合作,评估宝宝治疗期间的生长和营养状况。此外,本院还帮助有哺乳和母乳喂养需求的家庭,让本院患者能使用母乳捐赠计划 (Donor Milk Program)。
  • 脑健康特别监测

    本院新生儿神经和神经重症监护计划的新生儿神经病专科医生经常监测患者的发育过程并研究脑损伤的预防和管理。 
  • 小儿发育计划

    本院的小儿发育诊所每年评估 1,500 多个患儿,年龄从出生到 4 岁不等,与患儿及其家人一起解决发育问题。
  • 当地新生儿重症监护室

    本院与弗吉尼亚州和马里兰州的几家社区医院合作,让患者能有更多的新生儿重症监护室选择。
  • 家庭援助

    本院提供全方位的援助服务,以减轻宝宝在本院治疗期间对其家人的压力。专职的护理团队成员包括家庭援助专员、社工、个案经理和儿童生活专员,会在宝宝在新生儿重症监护室治疗的整个时间里随时为您的家人服务。

四级新生儿重症监护室的重要性

虽然大多数婴儿出生时都很健康,有些新生儿早产或可能有健康问题,需要在新生儿重症监护室进行护理。美国儿科学会按提供的护理水平指定新生儿重症监护室的级别。本院的新生儿重症监护室被指定为四级,为每年在此接受治疗的 800 多个婴儿提供最高水平的新生儿护理。这里的临床团队可以照顾因出生缺陷和其他疾病而需要特殊手术的婴儿,包括儿科亚专科医生、专科护士和先进的设备,可以治疗最复杂的疾病。

Neonatology

At Children’s National Medical Center, the Division of Neonatology is dedicated to providing the highest level of expert, compassionate care for your newborn baby. Our division, led by Billie Lou Short, M.D., possesses the top neonatologists in the country and has a Level IV neonatal intensive care unit (NICU), administering the most advanced treatments to our tiniest patients.

Ranked Number One in the United States for Neonatal Care

We know that having a baby with complex conditions can be difficult for you and your family, and we’re here to support you through every step of your journey. Our team is uniquely qualified to treat your baby with the most innovative therapies available.

Highlights of our program include:

We care about your privacy. Read about your rights and how we protect your data. Get Details
  • Ranked Number One in the Nation

    U.S. News & World Report ranks our neonatology program number one in the nation, reflecting our commitment to excellence in care for our patients and families.  
  • Level IV NICU

    Children’s National has one of the only Level IV NICUs in the Washington, D.C., area, offering the highest level of care for premature and ill newborns.
  • High-Risk Prenatal Care

    Our fetal medicine team specializes in high-risk pregnancies – diagnosing your baby in utero (in the womb) and providing a treatment plan for delivery and after birth.
  • ECMO Breathing Therapy

    In 1984, Children’s National became the first children’s hospital to offer extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO), which acts as an artificial set of heart and lungs for critically ill infants. Our program is now one of the largest in the country for infants and is designated as an ECMO Center of Excellence.
  • Nutrition and Feeding Program

    The experts in our Neonatal Nutrition Program work closely to evaluate your baby’s growth and nutrition during their hospital stay. Additionally, we help families with lactation and breastfeeding needs and give our patients access to the Donor Milk Program.
  • Special Monitoring for Brain Health

    The Neonatal Neurology and Neurocritical Care Program offers patients access to neonatal neurologists who regularly monitor developmental progress and research brain injury prevention and management. 
  • Child Development Program

    Our Child Development Clinic evaluates more than 1,500 children each year, ranging in age from birth to 4 years old. Our specialists will work with you to address developmental concerns.
  • Regional NICUs

    We partner with several community hospitals in Virginia and Maryland to provide greater access to our NICU services.
  • Family Support

    We offer a full range of support services to help ease the stress on your family during your baby’s hospital stay. You’ll have access to a dedicated care team consisting of a family support specialist, social worker, case manager and child life specialist who will follow your family throughout your time in the NICU.

The Importance of a Level IV Neonatal Intensive Care Unit

While most babies are born healthy, some newborns are premature or may have health problems, requiring care in a NICU. The American Academy of Pediatrics designates NICUs by the level of care available. At Children’s National, our NICU is designated Level IV, providing the highest level of neonatal care for the more than 800 babies we see each year. Our nursery has clinical teams who can take care of babies who need special surgery for birth defects and other disorders. Your baby will also be treated by pediatric subspecialists, specialized nurses and equipment that can care for the most complex conditions.

The Children's National NICU is one of few Level IV NICUs in Maryland, Virginia and Washington, D.C. While no one wants to think about their baby needing NICU care, it's important to know that this level of care is available nearby.

We’re Here to Help

If you are interested in learning more about our Division of Neonatology, please contact Global Services at +1-202-476-5778.