肿瘤科与血液科 | Children's National Hospital in Washington, D.C.

肿瘤科与血液科

本院的癌症与血液疾病中心有小儿肿瘤科和血液科的世界领先专家,一起利用现有的最具创新性手术和治疗方法来制定个性化的治疗计划。从诊治到长期随访,本院都将时时与您的孩子和家人同在。

选用本院的小儿癌症专科治疗

本院的综合癌症计划每年诊治的患儿比华盛顿特区都会区的所有其他医院都多,而且血液疾病计划也是全美最大的计划之一。如此之大的数量意味着对常见和罕见疾病的高水平专业知识。癌症与血液疾病中心的负责人是由世界领先的小儿癌症专家之一杰弗里 • 多姆 (Jeffrey Dome) 医学博士和哲学博士

多种计划和服务

本院采用团队合作的治疗方法,为每个患者及其家人提供合作的亚专科治疗。本院深知,每个患儿都独一无二,其疾病也需要个性化的治疗。

以下是本院为肿瘤患儿提供的专科服务:

  • 血液和骨髓移植

    如果白血病或镰状细胞性贫血之类其他血液疾病的患儿对治疗反应不佳,就可能需要做骨髓移植。本院享有盛誉的移植计划采用由本院医生开发的尖端治疗方法。此外,本院还采用体外光化学疗法治疗移植后有危险并发症的患儿,而能使用这种疗法的医院并不多。
  • 脑肿瘤研究所

    脑肿瘤研究所的负责人是罗杰 • 帕克 (Roger Packer) 医学博士和临床主任布莱恩 • 罗德 (Brian Rood) 医学博士,该所每年评估 100 多名脑肿瘤新患者,并为其他数百患者提供持续治疗。  美国和世界各地的患者经常向本院神经内科和肿瘤科的多学科专家征询第二诊疗意见。 

  • 血液科

    本院为组织细胞疾病等罕见疾病提供先进的治疗方法,并为镰状细胞病患儿提供协调性治疗,包括专门的疼痛管理和牙科护理等。另外,本院还有专治青春期大量经血(经血过多)的为数不多诊所之一。
  • 白血病和淋巴瘤计划

    本院的白血病和淋巴瘤专家是治疗这类血液癌的专家,每年都治疗大量的患者,使得他们能拥有更多的经验和专业知识。此外,本院还主持并参与各种临床研究,以研究创新的癌症治疗方法。
  • 放射肿瘤学和质子治疗

    美国国家儿童医院与约翰 • 霍普金斯医疗集团合作在华盛顿特区创建了第一个专门的儿科放射肿瘤学计划,注重推进儿科临床护理和儿科放射肿瘤学研究。小儿患者可通过这一合作计划获得当地最先进的现用质子治疗。本院专家使用最新研究支持的先进技术来提供个性化治疗,以满足患者的独特需求。

    请观看有关这项合作的视频。

  • 实体瘤计划

    大多数儿科医生在其职涯中都会有一两次遇到实体瘤(肉瘤),而本院拥有一支完整的肉瘤专家团队。这种专业水平意味着患儿将从一项采用最新治疗方法和手术的综合治疗计划获益。实体瘤可能在身体多个部位出现,如肝脏、肾脏(肾母细胞瘤)、肌肉或骨骼。 

全面的家庭援助和资源

癌症和血液疾病会影响到全家人,本院提供以下服务、设施和资源来减轻患者家人的一些压力:

  • 以家庭为中心的治疗

    本院重视并感谢患者对做出重要医疗护理决定的反馈,还有了解患儿病情和治疗选择的护士和社工团队能够随时伸出援手。
  • 患儿友好的环境

    从森林主题的候诊室到化疗室的大屏幕电视,本院创建了一个“梦想诊所”,使患儿在本院的体验更安心舒适。
  • 资源和援助

    患儿的疾病可能会给全家人带来困难,本院提供各种精神和实际援助(如为外地来的家庭提供住宿),给患儿及其家人带来帮助、鼓励和希望。

Oncology and Hematology

Oncology patient

Our Center for Cancer and Blood Disorders has some of the world's leading experts in pediatric oncology and hematology (blood diseases). Our team works together to develop personalized treatment plans that draw on the most innovative procedures and treatments available today. From diagnosis and treatment to long-term follow-up care, we are with your child and family every step of the way.

Choosing Children’s National for Specialized Pediatric Cancer Care

Our comprehensive cancer programs allow for the diagnosis and care of more children each year than all other hospitals in the Washington, D.C., metropolitan area, and our blood disease programs are among the largest in the country. This large number translates into a high level of expertise in both frequent and rare diseases. The Center for Cancer and Blood Disorders is led by Jeffrey Dome, M.D., Ph.D., one of the world's leading pediatric cancer specialists.

Our Programs and Services

We take a team approach to treatment, offering collaborative subspecialty care for each patient and family. We understand that every child is unique and deserves individualized care for their disease.

Here are the specialized services we provide for our pediatric oncology patients:

We care about your privacy. Read about your rights and how we protect your data. Get Details
  • Brain Tumor Institute

    Led by Director Roger Packer, M.D., and Clinical Director Brian Rood, M.D., the Brain Tumor Institute evaluates more than 100 new patients with brain tumors each year and provides ongoing care for hundreds of others. Our multidisciplinary team of experts in neurology and oncology are regularly consulted to provide a second opinion for patients from across the United States and around the world. 
  • Leukemia and Lymphoma Program

    Our leukemia and lymphoma specialists are experts in the treatment of these types of blood cancers. We provide treatment to a large number of patients every year, which translates into greater experience and expertise. In addition, we lead and participate in various clinical studies to investigate innovative treatments for cancer.
  • Solid Tumor Program

    Most pediatricians find a solid tumor (sarcoma) once or twice in their careers – Children’s National has a full team of sarcoma experts. This level of specialization means that your child will benefit from a comprehensive treatment plan that draws on the latest options and procedures available. Solid tumors can occur in a variety of areas, such as the liver, kidneys (Wilms tumor), muscles or bones. 
  • Hematology

    We offer advanced treatments for rare diseases, such as histiocytic disorders, and offer coordinated care of children with sickle cell disease, ranging from specialized pain management to dental care. In addition, we have one of the few clinics dedicated to the treatment of adolescents with profuse menstrual bleeding (menorrhagia).
  • Blood and Bone Marrow Transplantation

    If your child has leukemia or other blood diseases, such as sickle cell anemia, which do not respond well to treatment, you may need a bone marrow transplant. Our transplant program is recognized for its state-of-the-art treatments developed by doctors at Children's National. In addition, we are one of the few centers that perform extracorporeal photopheresis, a treatment that helps children with dangerous complications after transplantation.

Full Family Support and Resources

Cancer and blood diseases are conditions that affect the whole family. We offer services, facilities and resources to reduce some of the stress of having a sick child:

  • Family-Centered Care

    We value and appreciate your feedback in making important decisions about medical care. To help you with this, our teams include nurses and social workers who specialize in helping you understand your child's illness and treatment options.
  • Child-Friendly Environment

    From a forest-themed waiting room to a large-screen television in chemotherapy rooms, we have created a "dream clinic" to make your experience more comfortable.
  • Resources and Support

    Your child's illness can be difficult for the whole family. From spiritual support to practical needs, such as lodging for families who come from places outside the city, we offer help, encouragement and hope.

We’re Here to Help

Contact Global Services at +1-202-476-5778 to make an appointment or talk to one of our experts.