骨外科与运动医学科 | Children's National Hospital in Washington, D.C.

骨外科与运动医学科

doctor examines little girl's arm cast

本院的骨外科与运动医学科能够治疗患儿各种影响关节和骨骼系统结构的疾病。本院的外科医生在脊柱畸形、骨骼健康和髋关节保护等众多专科领域都处于领先地位,而《美国新闻与世界报道》为此将本院评为全美最佳小儿骨科计划中的佼佼者。

选用本院的整形外科和运动医学科

本院的目标是使用现有的最先进和最无创手术来治疗患儿。本院只治疗患儿,每年接待 1,500 多名,所获专业知识既广又深,总能获得出色的治疗结果,并助患儿恢复活动能力和生活质量。

本院提供: 

  • 儿科专长

    本院骨科计划专门治疗患儿,在华盛顿特区都会区独一无二。该计划负责人是马修 • 奥特根 (Matthew Oetgen) 医学博士兼工商管理硕士,这里的小儿骨科医生团队都接受过博士后研究培训,治疗从骨折到脊柱畸形的所有疾病。
  • 生长板保留疗法

    本院深知,患儿不仅仅是小孩子,且是治疗患儿骨骼生长区域(称为生长板)附近疾病或损伤的专家。
  • 创新的治疗计划

    本院的脊柱融合手术之家是全美首创的此类儿科计划,采用团队合作治疗方法,为正在接受脊柱拉直手术(即后路脊柱融合术)的患儿提供安全、有效和以家庭为中心的治疗。这种团队治疗方法可缩短住院时间,降低感染率,并减少使用麻醉性止痛药。
  • 腹腔镜手术

    需要手术时,本院会尽可能使用腹腔镜手术这种微创技术,缩短恢复时间并减轻疼痛。
  • 尖端技术

    本院采用 EOS® 这种诺贝尔奖获奖技术,拍摄优质全身图像时比传统 X 射线更快,辐射更少。

专科骨科计划

除了竭尽全力满足患儿的独特需求外,本院许多医生还接受过骨科医学亚专科的培训,能为小儿骨科疾病和损伤提供多种治疗方法。

本院的各种计划包括:

  • 骨科健康计划

    某些疾病或药物会影响患儿骨骼的强度和密度,而本院能助其生出更强壮健康的骨骼,以减少骨折和其他损伤的风险。
  • 手部计划

    本院外科医生接受过专门培训,能治疗各种手部和上肢疾病和损伤,并与本院物理和职业治疗师配合,帮助罕见和常见疾病和损伤患儿恢复正常或接近正常的功能。 
  • 髋部计划

    本院为髋关节疾病小儿和年轻患者提供全面的护理和希望。无论孩子的髋部疾病是先天性还是后天性,或是因损伤或外伤而患上,本院都会竭尽全力取得出色的治疗成绩。
  • 肢体加长

    从骨骼缩短手术到最好的现有加长器械,本院提供完整的专业儿科四肢加长治疗方法,包括唯一获批的无框架肢体加长器械。
  • 骨科创伤

    骨科创伤包括突然发生的骨骼和关节严重损伤,如发生车祸或严重跌倒时。本院属于指定的一级创伤中心,提供全天候的最高级护理。
  • 脊柱计划

    本院的小儿脊柱专家使用先进的外科手术程序和定制的康复计划来治疗患儿的多种脊柱畸形(包括脊柱侧弯),采用 MAGEC™ 生长棒之类的创新疗法来优化患儿脊柱的健康和功能。
  • 运动医学科

    作为华盛顿特区地区唯一的儿科运动医学计划,本院每年治疗 5,000 多名患者。与成人计划不同,本院的专家采用的技术能保护患儿的身体发育。

Orthopaedic Surgery and Sports Medicine

A member of our medical staff examines a female patient's hand.

The Division of Orthopaedic Surgery and Sports Medicine at Children’s National Medical Center assists children with conditions affecting the structure or function of their joints and skeletal system – from head to toe. Our surgeons are leaders in a wide range of specialties, including spinal deformities, bone health and hip preservation, which has led to our ranking among the top 10 Best Children’s Orthopaedic Hospitals in the United States by U.S. News & World Report.

Choosing Children’s National for Orthopaedic Surgery and Sports Medicine

Our goal is to treat our young patients with the most advanced and least invasive procedures available. Focusing only on caring for children and treating more than 1,500 patients each year provides our team with the expertise to deliver excellent results and help your child regain mobility and quality of life.

Our team offers your child: 

We care about your privacy. Read about your rights and how we protect your data. Get Details
  • Pediatric Expertise

    Children’s National is the only child-focused orthopaedic program in the Washington, D.C., metropolitan area. Our team of fellowship-trained pediatric orthopaedists, led by Matthew Oetgen, M.D., MBA, treats everything from broken bones to spinal deformities.
  • Growth-Plate Sparing Treatments

    We appreciate that children are not simply miniature adults. We are experts in treating conditions or injuries near growing areas of your child’s bones (known as growth plates).
  • Innovative Care Programs

    Our Spinal Fusion Surgical Home is the first pediatric program of its kind in the United States. Using a team approach, we deliver safe, effective and family-centered care to children undergoing spine-straightening surgery, known as posterior spinal fusion. This team-based approach to care leads to shorter hospital stays, a decreased infection rate and a reduced need for narcotic pain medications.
  • Laparoscopic Surgery

    When surgery is necessary, we strive to use laparoscopic surgery, which is a minimally invasive technique. Laparoscopic surgery gives your child a shorter recovery time and reduced pain.
  • Cutting-Edge Technology

    Our team utilizes EOS® – a Nobel prize-winning technology which allows us to take high-quality full body images more quickly and with less radiation than traditional X-rays.

Specialized Orthopaedic Programs

In addition to their dedication to meeting the unique needs of children, many of our physicians have undergone training in subspecialties within orthopaedic medicine. This allows us to offer a wide variety of treatment programs for pediatric orthopaedic disorders and injuries.

Our programs include:

  • Bone Health Program

    Certain diseases or medications can affect the strength and density of a child’s bones. Our team helps patients develop stronger and healthier bones to reduce the risk of fractures and other injuries.
  • Hand Program

    Our surgeons are specially-trained to treat disorders and injuries of the hands and upper limbs. They work with our physical and occupational therapists to help restore normal, or near-normal, function in children with rare – and common – disorders and injuries.
  • Hip Program

    Our team offers comprehensive care and hope to children and young adults with hip disorders. Whether your child was born with or developed a hip disease, or has acquired one due to injury or trauma, we are dedicated to achieving excellent outcomes for your child.
  • Limb Lengthening

    From bone shortening surgery to the best available lengthening devices, our team expertly delivers the complete range of pediatric limb lengthening treatments, including the only approved frameless limb lengthening device.
  • Orthopaedic Trauma

    Orthopaedic trauma involves serious injury to the bones and joints that come on suddenly, such as when your child is in a car accident or experiences a bad fall. We are designated as a Level I Trauma Center, providing your child with around-the-clock access to the most advanced care.
  • Spine Program

    Our pediatric spine experts use advanced surgical procedures and customized rehabilitation programs to treat the wide variety of spinal deformities in children, including scoliosis. We use innovative treatments, such as the MAGEC™ Growing Rod, to optimize the health and function of your child’s spine.
  • Sports Medicine

    As the only pediatric sports medicine program in the Washington, D.C., region, we care for more than 5,000 patients each year. Unlike programs for adults, we have specialists who utilize techniques that protect your child’s physical development.

We’re Here to Help

Contact Global Services at +1-202-476-5778 to make an appointment or talk to one of our experts.