质量与安全 | Children's National Hospital in Washington, D.C.

质量与安全

doctor examines little boy

本院竭尽全力为每次就诊的每位患者提供安全的优质医疗服务,在保证质量和安全方面的工作永不停止。本院一直在互相推动,不断改进,应对最棘手的挑战,并与他人分享自己的经验。

以下一些示例说明了本院如何持续改善患者及其家人的治疗环境。

  • 鼓励家人激活快速响应团队 (RRT)

    在儿科医院中,父母是孩子健康与安全最好的代言人。如果孩子的病情突然衰退,父母即可打个电话激活快速响应团队 (RRT)。快速响应团队是一个由专职临床医护人员组成的安全网,包括重症监护医生、护士、呼吸治疗师和护理负责人,会对患儿进行评估并提供所需的任何急诊护理。

    2018 年秋天,医学护理主任杰奎琳 • 牛顿(Jacqueline NewtonRN,护理学硕士、认证儿科急诊护士和认证护士行政管理人员)注意到,本院患儿的家人并没有充分利用这一重要资源。自 2016 年以来,利用这项资源的家人为数极少,问题在于缺乏很好的宣传和实施。牛顿女士的目标是通过向家人提供激活快速响应团队的援助、技能和知识来增强家人对快速响应团队的认识。

    实施了一些关键措施,例如,确保所有患者病房都有说明如何呼叫快速响应团队的标志,与接线员合作制定呼叫脚本,并鼓励护士进行宣传,牛顿女士就这样成功地实现了目标。自 2018 年 11 月实施这些更改以来,本院报告称知道如何将疑虑升级的家人数量有所增加。此外,由于家人对快速响应团队有了更多了解,就能更好地为患儿代言,并与医院工作人员一起确保患儿得到最佳和最安全的护理。

  • 减少新生儿重症监护室中的意外拔管

    意外拔管或婴儿呼吸管意外脱落是全美新生儿重症监护室第四大最常见的负面事件,可能导致气道创伤、出血和心脑血管崩溃。

    由本院新生儿重症监护室的儿童医务主任拉米娅 • 索吉尔 (Lamia Soghier) 医学博士领导的团队发现了一些简单的解决方案,将意外拔管率降低了一半以上。

    索吉尔博士解释说:“这些婴儿有复杂的护理需求,但是,降低这些危及生命事件的发生率归结为进行一系列使我们的工作标准化的简单更改,包括如何将气管插管粘在孩子的嘴上,在拍摄 X 射线片过程中如何放置婴儿,以及每天查房时医疗团队讨论插管患者护理计划时应参与的人员。”

    该团队实施了在意外拔管后 72 小时内进行床旁检查,目的是为了确定导因(如胶带弄湿或松动),并减少了新生儿接受胸部 X 射线检查的频率。

    结果是 10 年内意外拔管事故减少了 60%,每年为医院节省了约 150 万美元。索吉尔博士的团队不仅提高了安全性,还降低了医院的整体医疗保健支出。

  • 改善手术验证流程

    本院努力确保将安全放在所做一切工作的第一位。即使是最小的安全事件也要注意,以助改善手术之前、之中和之后的整个流程,因此捕获手术安全事件对本院工作人员至关重要。

    本院一个团队最近开发了一种简化系统的综合方法,可以用来捕获和解决手术安全事件,即“分层儿童手术验证”。手术质量改善经理西尔维亚 • 埃斯皮纳尔 (Silvia Espinal) 拥有护理学硕士学位,也是一名注册护士,是该验证团队的关键人物,认为实施该计划并非易事,但为了提供最佳护理却值得所付出的努力。

    根据美国外科医生学院制定的标准,埃斯皮纳尔的工作涉及与不同部门合作,以审查标有安全事件的手术病例。她收集、整理和监视各种可以确定改进机会的数据。新的验证计划增强了医院识别手术安全事件的能力,然后对这些安全事件进行了多学科的多级审查。

    在 2018 年 6 月至 10 月,埃斯皮纳尔及其团队安全捕获事件的能力提高了14%。这一成功导致美国外科医生学院向他们授予了最佳儿科摘要 (Best Pediatrics Abstract) 称号,并邀请他们将来与其他儿科医院分享他们的工作。

  • 优化有条件出院单

    对于年轻患者而言,出院日是令人兴奋的时刻。在医院里呆了一段时间之后,他们终于可以回到自己的朋友和家人身边了。为了帮助医院工作人员、患者和家人简化出院程序,本院使用“有条件出院”。这让医生能在实际出院前几个小时甚至几天开具出院单,让护理团队和家人能够完成文书工作、家庭护理安排和交通等任务,以便在满足指定的临床标准后立即出院。

    但是,临床资源管理主任凯瑟琳 • 瑞格尼(Kathleen Rigney,护理学硕士、注册护士和认证个案经理)与她的团队意识到,本院大多数有条件出院单都在预计出院时间的一到两个小时内开具。由于没有正确使用出院单,临床医生并未优化本院的患者流动。

    瑞格尼设定了一个目标,即提高为外科护理单元骨科患者在预计出院时间之前至少 6 小时开具出院单的百分比,并保持这种增长至少 6 个月。她和她的团队与医院工作人员合作,确保为护理团队和住院医生提供出院单流程方面的良好培训,而且临床医生也能尽量在早晨查房时确定有条件出院。

    瑞格尼实现了她的目标,她的策略非常有效,现已用于本院外科护理病房、心脏和肾脏病房以及住院医生团队的所有患者。

  • 减少新生儿重症监护室的万古霉素使用

    万古霉素是一种抗生素,用于治疗对抗生素有耐药性的细菌耐甲氧西林金黄色葡萄球菌 (MRSA)。但是,如果使用时间超过 48 小时,万古霉素也会引起肾脏损伤,因此一定要仅在必要时使用,因为大多数情况都可以使用更好和更安全的替代抗生素。

    本院抗菌管理计划主任是拉娜 • 哈姆迪(Rana Hamdy)医学博士、临床流行病学理学硕士和公共卫生硕士,由她负责跟踪本院的抗生素使用情况。在查看新生儿重症监护室的万古霉素使用量时,哈姆迪博士发现,即使耐甲氧西林金黄色葡萄球菌感染率很低,这里开具的抗生素几乎是其他医院的三倍。

    在这一发现的推动下,哈姆迪博士组建了一个由新生儿科医生、新生儿重症监护室护士和执业护师、传染病专家和药剂师组成的多学科团队。他们的目标是在一年中将新生儿重症监护室的万古霉素使用量减少 50%,并将这一水平至少维持 1 年。该团队制定并实施了多种干预措施,包括将本院治疗多种感染的方法标准化,将药剂师纳入抗生素审查流程,并对临床医生进行抗生素使用教育。

    在一年之内,新生儿重症监护室中的万古霉素使用量下降了 60%。在该项目之前,每周都有一名婴儿有万古霉素相关的肾脏损伤,但在该项目结束后的六个月中,新生儿重症监护室再也没有发生万古霉素相关的肾脏损伤。此外,新生儿重症监护室中其他抗生素的使用量也减少了约 20%。

Quality and Safety | Children's National Hospital in Washington, D.C.

Quality and Safety

Young male doctor lets infant boy grab his yellow stethoscope while dad watches.

At Children’s National Hospital, we’re committed to providing safe, quality health care for every patient at every visit. When it comes to quality and safety, the work never stops. We are dedicated to pushing one another to continuously improve, to tackle the most difficult challenges and to share our learning with others.

Here are some examples of how we continually improve the environment for our patients and their families.

  • Encouraging Families to Activate the Rapid Response Team (RRT)

    In the pediatric hospital setting, parents are the best advocate for their child’s health and safety. If a child suddenly declines, then a parent can make a phone call and activate the Rapid Response Team (RRT). The Rapid Response Team is a safety net of dedicated clinical providers, including an intensive care physician, nurses, respiratory therapist and a nursing leader, who will assess the child and provide any emergency care needed.

    In the fall of 2018, Director of Medical Nursing Jacqueline Newton, RN, MSN, CPEN, NE-BC, noticed that families at Children’s National weren’t taking advantage of this critical resource. Less than a handful of family-activated events had occurred since 2016. The problem was that the program was not well publicized and implemented. Newton made it her goal to increase family awareness of the Rapid Response Team by empowering families with the support, skills and knowledge to activate an RRT.

    By implementing some key measures – such as ensuring all patient rooms have signs explaining how to call an RRT, collaborating with the operators on an RRT call script and encouraging nurses to promote the program – Newton has managed to achieve her goal. Since implementing these changes in November 2018, the hospital has seen an increase in the number of families who report knowing how to escalate concerns. Moreover, because families are more aware of the Rapid Response Team, they are better equipped to advocate for their children and work with the hospital staff to ensure their children get the best and safest care possible.

  • Cutting Down on Unintended Extubations in the NICU

    Unintended extubations, or the accidental dislodging of a breathing tube in a baby, are the fourth-most common negative event in neonatal intensive care units (NICUs) around the country. Unintended extubations can lead to airway trauma, bleeding and cardiovascular collapse.

    A team led by Children's National NICU medical director Lamia Soghier, M.D. found some simple solutions that cut unintended extubation rates by more than half.

    "These babies have complex care needs, however lowering the rates of these life-threatening events came down to instituting a series of simple changes to standardize what we do, including how we tape the endotracheal tube to the child's mouth, how we position infants during X-rays and who we include on daily rounds when the medical team discusses intubated patients' care plans," explains Dr. Soghier.

    The team also implemented bedside reviews within 72 hours of an unintended extubation to determine contributing factors, such as wet or loose tape, and reduced how often newborns received chest X-rays.

    The result was a decrease in unintended extubations by 60% over 10 years, which saved the hospital an estimated $1.5 million per year. Dr. Soghier’s team not only improved safety, but also lowered overall healthcare spending for the hospital.

  • Improving the Surgery Verification Process

    The teams at Children’s National work hard to ensure that safety is the highest priority in everything they do. Paying attention to even the smallest safety event can help improve the process before, during and after a procedure, so capturing surgical safety events is critical for our staff.

    Recently, a team at Children’s National developed a comprehensive way of streamlining the system to capture and address surgical safety events. The program is called Tiered Children’s Surgery Verification. Silvia Espinal, MSN, RN, a surgery quality improvement manager, is a key player on the verification team and says that the undertaking of the program was no easy task, but the efforts are worth it to provide the best care.

    Silvia’s work involves collaborating with different departments to review surgical cases flagged with a safety event, according to the metrics set by the American College of Surgeons. She collects, organizes and monitors data to determine opportunities for improvement. The new verification program enhances the hospital’s ability to identify surgical safety events, which then go through multi-level reviews from several disciplines.

    Silvia and her team saw a 14% increase in their ability to capture events from June through October in 2018. This success resulted in the American College of Surgeons awarding them the Best Pediatrics Abstract, and also inviting them to share their work with other pediatric hospitals in the future.

  • Optimizing Conditional Discharge Orders

    Discharge day is an exciting time for our young patients. They finally get to return home to their friends and family after spending time in the hospital. To make the discharge process easier on the hospital staff, patients and families, Children’s National has what’s called a “Conditional Discharge.” This allows the doctors to place discharge orders several hours – or even days – before the actual discharge, enabling the care team and family to complete tasks such as paperwork, home care arrangements and transportation, so discharge can happen as soon as the specified clinical criteria are met.

    However, Director of Clinical Resource Management Kathleen Rigney, MSN, RN, CCM, in collaboration with her team, realized that most Conditional Discharge Orders (CDOs) at Children’s National were being written within one to two hours of the estimated discharge time. By not making proper use of the CDOs, clinicians weren’t optimizing patient flow through the hospital.

    Rigney set a goal to increase the percent of CDOs written at least six hours before estimated discharge time for orthopedic patients on the Surgical Care Unit, and to sustain that increase for at least 6 months. Working with the hospital staff, she and her team made sure that care teams and hospitalists were well trained in the CDO process, and that clinicians were working to identify conditional discharges during their morning rounds.

    Rigney met her goal, and her strategies have been so effective that they are now being used for all patients on the Surgical Care Unit, Heart and Kidney Unit and Hospitalist teams at Children’s National.

  • Reducing Vancomycin Use in the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (NICU)

    Vancomycin is an antibiotic that is used to treat antibiotic-resistant bacteria, such as methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA). But vancomycin can also cause kidney injury when it’s used for more than 48 hours, so it’s important to only use it when necessary, because better and safer alternative antibiotics are available for most situations.

    As director of the antimicrobial stewardship program at Children’s National, Rana Hamdy, M.D., MSCE, M.P.H., tracks antibiotic use at the hospital. When Dr. Hamdy looked at how much vancomycin was being used in the neonatal intensive care unit (NICU), she discovered that the department was prescribing the antibiotic almost three times as much as other hospitals, even though the rates of MRSA infections were very low.

    Prompted by this finding, Dr. Hamdy assembled a multidisciplinary team consisting of neonatologists, NICU nurses and nurse practitioners, infectious disease experts and pharmacists. Their goal was to reduce vancomycin use in the NICU by 50% in one year and to sustain that level for at least another year. The team developed and implemented several interventions, including standardizing the hospital’s approach to treating several types of infections, integrating pharmacists into the antibiotic review process, and educating clinicians on antibiotic use.

    Within one year, vancomycin use in the NICU was down by 60%. Before the project, one infant per week was developing vancomycin-associated kidney injury, but in the six months after the last phase of the project, there were no episodes of vancomycin-associated kidney injury in the NICU. As an added benefit, the use of other antibiotics in the NICU also declined by about 20%.